The Collected Works Of Neutral Milk Hotel

The Collected Works Of Neutral Milk Hotel


Limited edition box set contains the albums In the Aeroplane Over the Sea LP and On Avery Island 2-LP, a 12″ picture disc pressing of Live at Jittery Joe’s, two 10″ vinyl EPs, three 7″ vinyl singles, and two folded posters plus other inserts. The two full-length records that Jeff Mangum made as Neutral Milk Hotel sound both in and out of time. Like translations of a shared subconscious, 1996’s On Avery Island and 1998’s In the Aeroplane Over the Sea give voice to the perennial spirit of youthful epiphany, of beginning to see the world clearly, to process and express it- no matter when you encounter them. With lo-fi indie rock, accordion, singing saw, tape collages, the so-called “zanzithophone” and beyond, Neutral Milk Hotel created an eternal entry into their Elephant 6 scene and an enduring feeling of possibility.

Shop now

The Collected Works Of Neutral Milk Hotel – Vinyl Record Overview

The Collected Works Of Neutral Milk Hotel


An Unforgettable Journey Through Time and Sound

Are you ready to embark on a musical adventure like no other? Look no further than “The Collected Works Of Neutral Milk Hotel.” This limited edition box set is a treasure trove of auditory wonders, offering a comprehensive collection of albums, EPs, singles, and more.

At the heart of this mesmerizing compilation are the two full-length records that introduced the world to the genius of Jeff Mangum and his band, Neutral Milk Hotel. “On Avery Island” and “In the Aeroplane Over the Sea” are sonic masterpieces that defy categorization. They exist both in and out of time, transcending the boundaries of traditional music.

As you immerse yourself in this ethereal journey, you’ll be transported to a realm where youth, epiphany, and clarity reign supreme. The rawness of lo-fi indie rock blends seamlessly with the haunting melodies of accordion and singing saw, creating an otherworldly sonic landscape that will leave you captivated.

But it doesn’t stop there. With the inclusion of a 12″ picture disc pressing of “Live at Jittery Joe’s,” two 10″ vinyl EPs, three 7″ vinyl singles, and two folded posters, this box set becomes an immersive experience that goes beyond mere music. It is a glimpse into the creative process and the soul of Neutral Milk Hotel.

Each vinyl in this collection is meticulously crafted to deliver the highest quality sound. From the mesmerizing tape collages to the enigmatic “zanzithophone,” every instrument and every note comes alive, enveloping you in a rich sonic tapestry.

But don’t just take our word for it. Experience the possibility, the magic, and the sheer brilliance of Neutral Milk Hotel for yourself. “The Collected Works Of Neutral Milk Hotel” is not just an album; it’s a gateway to a world of artistic expression and profound emotions.

Product Details

  • Language: English
  • Product Dimensions: 12.2 x 12.2 x 1.77 inches; 5.77 Pounds
  • Manufacturer: Merge Records
  • Original Release Date: 2023
  • Date First Available: January 10, 2023
  • Label: Merge Records
  • Country of Origin: USA
  • Number of discs: 9

The Collected Works Of Neutral Milk Hotel

The Collected Works Of Neutral Milk Hotel

Why You Should Buy This Record

  • If you appreciate lo-fi indie rock with a unique blend of instruments and sounds, this record is a must-have for your collection.
  • For fans of the Elephant 6 scene, this box set offers an eternal entry into the world of Neutral Milk Hotel and their distinctive musical style.
  • If you enjoy albums that capture the essence of youthful epiphany and provide a sense of possibility, these records will resonate with you.

About the Singer – Jeff Mangum

Jeff Mangum, the creative force behind Neutral Milk Hotel, is known for his introspective and emotive songwriting. His lyrics often delve into themes of personal introspection, love, and spirituality.

Mangum’s distinct vocal style, combined with his ability to create vivid imagery through his lyrics, has made him a revered figure in the indie music scene.

An Interesting Fact or Story

During the recording of their album “In the Aeroplane Over the Sea,” Jeff Mangum reportedly became obsessed with the story of Anne Frank. The album’s lyrics heavily reference Anne Frank’s diary and explore themes of love, loss, and the human condition.

This concept album gained a cult following over the years and is often regarded as one of the greatest indie rock albums of all time.

The Experience

When you listen to Neutral Milk Hotel’s collected works, you embark on a journey through time and emotion. The lo-fi production adds to the raw and intimate nature of the music, inviting you to immerse yourself in the storytelling.

From the haunting melodies of “In the Aeroplane Over the Sea” to the whimsical arrangements of “On Avery Island,” each song transports you to a different realm of thought and feeling.

Neutral Milk Hotel’s music has a way of capturing the essence of youth, nostalgia, and the longing for something more. It’s an experience that will leave you reflecting on your own journey and the beauty of the human experience.

Shop now


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “The Collected Works Of Neutral Milk Hotel”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *